Names? (Name changing, question about available names)

So, I’m pretty new to Phobies. I know, “Noob coming in to rant on the forums about something, what an idiot” - hear me out, alright?

Upon opening the game, I obviously created an account. To do that, I needed a name. Most of my presence on games, online accounts, etc. are under the username Mr.Spooks, I wanted to name myself that in Phobies as well. I like the name, it has history, and fits perfectly for a spooky game. But after trying probably around 8 variations of the name, I got tired of the name being ‘unavailable’. Honestly, I don’t know why, but I just got a little pissed and spammed my keyboard and now my name is something along the lines of ‘fkskdjthjsjd’. Needless to say, I hate this name. Being known as something that looks like a keyboard had an aneurysm is not ideal, but according to what I have read, there is no way to change your name.

Honestly, I find it quite dumb that games forbid changing your name, I never understood why any game has that ‘One free name change’ deal, such as Apex, OW, etc. How ever, one change is better than none. Does anyone agree with me that there should be an option to change your name, at least once?

And while I’m at it, does anyone have any idea why the names ‘Mr.Spooks’, ‘MrSpooks’, ‘MrSpookBones’, ‘MisterSpookBones’, (and then the same idea but with a bunch of numbers at the end) were all unavailable? I find it hard to believe that all of them have already been taken, so what is it? Is it banned? Is it somehow flagged as profanity? Is it just too spooky? Please, enlighten me.

• Spooks (A.K.A keyboard masher)
3 Likes

hnnn, bad luck; your nickname sounds normal maybe other person have it, You looked if in Frenemies there was already someone with that username?